Wrap With Love

Achtung: This post is very ibu-ibu themed.

I wanted to write something about a thing I loved when baby T was still small. I know it is way too late, seeing that T is not a baby anymore. In fact, he is now a toddler who loves to destroy everything!Indeed. A destroyer. A very cute one.

I was soooo determined to babywear T..it felt like home for me. my grandmoms and aunties carried us and their munchkins with slendang/jarik. So, I wanted to do the same, but with my own version. Long before I got pregnant I’d taken weaving workshops and then on got introduced to baby woven wraps. There are many beautiful wraps out there with different kind of blends and textures. I am a sucker for beautiful fabrics and textiles so I got curious about baby woven wraps that I did my research on it.

Firstly, I bought a tricot slen from Babylonia brand, click here. It was a stretchy wrap, very fool-proof, cool for the summer and ideal for a newborn. I was happy with my purchase and even took a short workshop for how to wrap your baby. He lived in that wrap from he was just wee 2 months old until he was 4 months old. He took his naps and when he was awake I took him with me grocery shopping in it. As T was 5 months old he got heavier, he weighed around 6-7 kg. The tricot slen I used  became somewhat uncomfortable, and it was not grippy enough for this squirmy T and my shoulders hurt so much if I wore him more than 30 minutes. Eventually, I switched to baby woven wraps. This time I purchased a second hand one off a group on Facebook. It was called “draagdoekenmarkt” (a closed group but you can ask to join). My new -not-so-new wrap was from Oscha (Edinburgh-based brand). It was from the range Orion Skara Brae sized 7 which meant 5,2 metres long, with mixed blends (made from: linen/hemp/cotton yarns). I love products from Oscha so much, so beautifully crafted and ethical too. That is why their products are pricey but still affordable. I chose this below, because the colors were stunning and looked very nice on T.

Woven wraps are best second hand. Why? If you buy a brand new wrap you will get a stiff and rigid piece of cloth even when it is 100% cotton. It needs to be broken in. How? By using it constantly. And that is why second hand woven wraps are much softer and some are even buttery soft and yet grippy.

I admit, after my Oscha I became addicted. I wanted another one with different blends with a darker colour that suited my complexion. A dear friend was selling her stash, and then I bought one from her. It was from Dydimos (linen and cotton blends, German brand) This one was very different from Oscha I had. Because the blends were mostly linen and cotton, and this one had been broken in too, it felt softer and more elastic/bouncier but still strong. The one from Oscha was thicker and not so bouncy, so it was perfect to “encapsulate” a wriggly baby.

I call my Oscha, my “baby prison” wrap he he he. I think it’s because of the hemp yarns that make it cushy yet strong.

Processed with MOLDIV

Dydimos indio

Then the third one, I wanted to practice with a shorter wrap so I could carry Tarou (then already 9 months old) on my hip. I bought size 4 Tulipa Aer, a beautiful 100% cotton wrap from a Dutch brand called Doeck, click for info!This one was a failure though. I couldn’t manage to do it right, and Tarou had grown into a very wriggly baby, so it made me nervous everytime I practiced because he would turn into a wriggly worm. And because it was 100% cotton it did not feel elastic or flexible enough for that weight. It must have been a perfect wrap for a smaller or less heavy baby. I now think I must sell that wrap though…such a waste…it is a very beautiful one. Anyone interested? I am selling this he he he.

See below:

img_0698

Tarou,  the wraps and I had good times together. I have carried him everywhere with baby wraps. He loved and still loves it when being carried (now) in baby carriers. When we were in Indonesia for example, I carried him on my back with an ergonomic baby carrier (I have the one from Beco, and I love it!). He is too heavy now to be carried with baby wraps/slings, so I occasionally carry him in a baby carrier. I still could though but only if I carried him on my back but he hated it if he could not see my face. He can walk now so it is way more interesting than to be carried, I think.

I love our wrap moments so much I become very quite religious about it, and I advocate a lot of my mama friends about it, but of course not all mamas like it. It is a choice. Most of mamas love to have another options like a baby bouncer or a cot to put the baby away when you need to do chores at home. But personally, I loved carrying T everywhere and so did he 🙂  It was really practical and I bonded with my baby even when I had to juggle with other bunch of things. Sometimes when I carried him outside I told him stories about the trees or when I did some chores inside of the house I pointed him the washing machine and how it worked (LOL, see..never a dull moment). There are many babywearer clubs in the world and regionally. In Amsterdam, we have Amsterdam babywearers and they have a Facebook page. There are also many swap groups around the world, Dutch-speaking pages are also available on Facebook! I for instance, always encourage new mamas to have a consultation with a Draag consulent near the place you live (a professional coach for babywearing and its techniques).

The Netherlands has many amazing woven wrap producers. There is this high-end brand called Artipoppe which has fantastic wraps, almost all of them are collectors items and the prices are..enough to buy holiday tickets 🙂 Kokoro is one that I really like because it has cute designs but oh so expensive. They usually make a partnership with other brands or independent weavers, sadly, I don’t know about the feel because I still do not have the chance to buy it. Then Doeck, and Yaro, the last one is an affordable brand but with a good quality. You can buy them online on many web-shops that sell ergonomic carriers or slings.

Thank you for reading!

x

24 thoughts on “Wrap With Love

  1. very cute, Oppie! did you try to wrap T the Indonesian way–at your front side, diagonally? or is it too bouncy to be done by these cloths? in Finland we call the wrap cloth kantoliina, but to this date i haven’t seen any of my friends use it. sometimes i would see my customer wearing it, and it always look so cute & cozy for the baby. ❤ so i can really understand the addiction! 😀

    • yes i did! i used the one from Doeck and with jarik Indonesia too. But T is a heavy baby and with my petite frame it was quite difficult carrying him on my hip for more than an hour.

  2. Ada grup FB-ny lho jeung. Indonesia Baby Wearing. Dan kata teman disana, one gendongan will never be enough, wkwkw…. aku sendiri punya 2 SSC dan sepertiny akan membeli 1 ringsling. Ini pinjem ringsling dr library IBW. Klo woven wrap, blm tertarik meski seneng klo baca ada temen yg nemu kain tenun tradisional punya saudaranya yg sudah lemes krn sering digunakan. Istilahny, broken in or something, ya? Baiklah. Ini pinjeman ringsling ku udah tiba. Aku mau coba gendong baby B dulu hehehe

  3. Tak gendong kemana2 ya judulnya piiii…bagus2 deh gendongan punyamu

    Makin kesini makin banyak banget ya jenis gendongan bayiiii. Dulu awal punya anak pake hanaro buset panjang bener 10m kali tuh ribet tp enak sig ya ga pegel..

  4. Haiiii mbak Oppie, salam kenal yaaaa.. 😊. Aku naksir ihh sama gendongan woven yang di punggung itu. Aku aja yang lagi ga pny baby suka iseng lho buka2 ebay liatin gendongan. Lirik2 merk Manduca 😛

  5. Lucu2 bgt kak oppie gendongannya Tarou. Aku dr dulu cuma pake 2 (soalnya ga bisa pake yg kain jarik jadul gitu hahahaa) yg pertama gendongan sling gitu pas awal2 tapi pas udh lbh berat akhirnya beli carrier deh emang nyaman bgt sih pake carrier tp skrg anakku dah ga betah disitu hahahaha krn udah jalan sih ya😁😁

    • Thanks Re! Iya banyak2 juga mubazir sih aku bilang. Temen aku dia punya 14 bijik woven wraps, dipadu padanin sama baju dia, hobby juga sih. Betul ringsling memang untuk bayi itu perfect tp kalau sudah berat sakit pundak nya ya. Tarou masih betah lama2 di carrier tp begitu liat ada balita lain jalan, udah deh bubaarr..dia minta jalan hihihi.

  6. This post reminds me of my mother when I was a kid, mbak… hik…hik..hik… BTW, itu kain memang sudah jadi sperti itu ya? tinggal pasang aja? atau haru dililit-lilit lagi, gitu? *curious. Hehe 😀

Leave a Reply

