The Birds and The Bees

Though I am an independent woman, by living far away from my hometown and busy with my my life out here,  I was not that independent girl at all when I was a little girl..In fact, I was so dependent, clumsy, introvert, a bit shy and very insecure. I was diagnosed with TB when I was around 5 or 6 years old. I can not remember exactly how old I was but I remembered that I had to go to hospital many many times. I remembered I used to be picked up from school by my father on Wednesdays or Thursdays. I was always looking forward to it cos then I could go in the car with him and visited the hospital and got a free candy after that. Then we would go for lunch at a modest restaurant  in the center of Jakarta, where my father loved to go to when he was studying at Uni. Hospital days were never so dull. I did not care when I always had to clutch dozens different kinds of new medicines after weekly check ups at the hospital. I could not care less…I love hospital days πŸ™‚

Why do I want to write about this? I don’t know. It just pops in my mind. Maybe because I have been sick lately. It makes me think about those days back when I was a child. Yes I had a serious illness that lasted 3 years of my childhood, and still it did not bother me. On the contrary, it was not a bad memory at all. I was not traumatized by the stinky hallways of the hospital, needles, the smell of antibiotics or whatsoever…And I am never appalled by clinics, ER or hospitals.

I am just amazed how simple life was when you were a child…It’s a simple world…

Just give her a lollipop and life is good πŸ™‚

A beautiful flower in beautiful Vlieland in early November last year

Adults are more complicated. Adults, they think too far ahead and they worry about simple things almost all the time. They want to foresee the troubles in the future.

I know life is good in many ways πŸ™‚ ..I just want to tell myself that everything is going to be OK, this sickness I am having will be just like those days when I was 6, and also just like 2 years ago when I had dengue fever in Indonesia and stayed for 2 weeks at the hospital (hello again hospital!).

Image is from here

If you feel annoyed or agitated or whatever, you just have to run like mad just like Phoebe does and trust me, things will get better afterwards :p

3 thoughts on “The Birds and The Bees

  1. Pingback: Four Years Blogging on WordPress and Domainless..Break Dulu. | Bucket of Cherries

Leave a Reply

